Dear Future Boyfriend… I get my hopes up.

Dear Future Boyfriend,

I’m writing to let you know that I’m a silly girl sometimes.  If you flirt with me, take me on dates, text me throughout the day– I’m going to get my hopes up about you.  I’m going to think you are interested in me and that maybe eventually you’ll become more than a friend.  This may seem like common sense, but I’ve learned that it’s not– many men don’t expect us to get our hopes up during the “discovery” process.

I might act and seem tough, but trust me– I wear my heart on my sleeve.  It’s been bent and it’s been hurt and it’s been let down… if you get my hopes up, be honest with me and tell me things aren’t headed where I think– don’t just disappear.  Don’t flirt with me if you don’t mean it.  Don’t kiss me unless you will again.  Don’t say you are thinking about me if you aren’t.  All of these things just get my hopes up even more and I’d rather be hurt than my hopes dashed.

Hope is the one thing I’ve learned to count on and when it’s cut off– that is the killer, not that you aren’t interested or that you can’t handle a commitment– that my hopes, were once again dashed, that’s what hurts.

Love Always,

Your Future Girlfriend

Leave a Reply

