Roadmap or Obstacle Course?

After a weekend back in college and a few heart-to-hearts between me and the guy I’m talking to– I realized that God has either given me a road map to follow or an obstacle course to get through. The problem is– I’m not sure which it is.

VS. 

At the same time though, I wonder if I want to know which it is.  Regardless of what kind of map I hold in my hand, i’ll end up somewhere different, both courses might change me– granted one will leave me bruised and sore while one will leave me refreshed.  Maybe the roadmap has traffic or maybe it’s a smooth ride?  Maybe the obstacle course has rivers to forge or electric shocks to avoid?  Only getting out there and following the path will show me and start the journey to where I need to go.

Yes, I want to know which it is so I can prepare properly– tennis shoes or flip flops, dress or spandex? But I think I can drive with tennis shoes and get through a few obstacle in flip flops– so maybe the preparation doesn’t matter.

Have you ever been given a map and weren’t sure if it was to the roads around you or to an obstacle course?  How did you get through– other than having faith?

Leave a Reply

