I’m Getting Married, Yet I Still Hate Weddings

Thought Catalog

shutterstock.comshutterstock.com

Two years ago, I won a prize at a Trivia Night in Edinburgh, Scotland after naming my team “All of my friends are getting married, and I’m just getting drunk.” My life plan barely spanned past my college graduation and included lots of travel and copious career choices that all made “saving the world” and “destitute” synonymous. I dismissed the Pinterest board “My Wedding!” to save space for “Insatiable Traveler,” “Future Adventures across the US,” and “Future Bartending Skills.”

At twenty-three, only at the beginning of my twenty-somethings, I have managed to traverse across 30 countries, 5 continents, and 4 wonders of the world. I took culinary courses in Italy, Bollywood dance classes in the north of India, and even escaped possible arrest at immigration in Costa Rica upon returning from the World Cup in Brazil. I managed to find an entry-level nonprofit job that helps me save the…

View original post 551 more words

Leave a Reply

